Random Picture

img_9038 resize.jpg

Notice Board


Club TT championships 2014


Link to Club TT Duty rota

Members- before traveling to the track  please check track availability for Thursday & Saturday  sessions as I have been unable to book every Thursday & Saturday (but most)










Clubman of the year

This year's AGM takes place at the Stourport Sports Club on Tuesday 11th November.  Besides the usual discussions on club matters and the election of officers for the following year this will be an ideal opportunity for all members to vote for their Clubman of the year.  Although all other awards have been decided this one is still up for grabs so if you think someone in the club is deserving of this award come along to the AGM and cast your vote.  Although the award is for a Clubman it could also be given to a woman and it is not restricted to competing members: any member of WFCRC whether an active competitor, a leisure rider or someone who assists behind the scenes can win this award so come along and cast your vote. 
Paul Darby has arranged for a free buffet on the night and David Briggs will be in attendance with club clothing for those of you who are still requiring some kit.  Additionally anyone renewing their 2015 membership on the night can do so at 2014 prices.  


Duo Normand 2014

Andy Overton finished his season with a record breaking ride in the recent Duo Normand 2up time trial.  Teamed with his regular time trial partner Andy Hunt of Ystwyth CC they completed the 36 miles (54km) course in 1 hour 20 minutes and 13 seconds.  Run in fine conditions through the country roads around the town of Marigny in Normandy Andy Overton recorded the fastest time by a Wyre Forest CRC rider in placing 12th in the 3rd cat race.  Overall winners were the Norwegian pairing of Truls Korsaeth and Reidar Borgersen of Team Joker in a time of 1-05-32.

British Cycling coaching 2014/2015

Last Thursday saw the first British Cycling coaching session for Seniors and Juniors at the Stourport Sports Club road race circuit which attracted 50 riders from across the Midlands.  Members of clubs from Wolverhampton to Evesham and Malvern to Solihull were in attendance for a tough two hours of training and advice under the guidance of Nick Yarworth.  Some riders found the going a bit too strenuous and may not complete the full 20 weeks the course is set to run so there will be room for anyone else wishing to join.  Besides a road worthy bike and suitable cycling clothing all that is required to participate in these sessions is membership of British Cycling. 

Shelsley Walsh hill climb 05/10/2014

The Shelsley Walsh hill climb promoted by Wyre Forest CRC and Worcester St Johns CC in co-operation with the Midland Automobile Club proved to be a great success.  A cool misty morning gave way to bright Autumnal sunshine by the time the first rider started the 1000 yards climb.  With many WFCRC members opting to help with marshalling duties it was left to the younger element to represent the club; and they did not disappoint.
Charlie Genner setting off number 1 was the quickest in the under 14 category with a time of 4-47.3.  Second place went to Ben Laurence in a time of 4-54.9 with James Pedersen completing the course in 6-17.  In the Juvenile category William Pedersen finished 3rd with a time of 3-59. 
Stuart Walker was the club's only Senior entrant and he finished with a time of 3-51.8 in the event won by Matt Clinton of Mike Vaughan Cycles with a new course record of 2-43.
Riders and spectators then enjoyed some refreshments in the Strastone café which has regularly catered to motoring enthusiasts every Sunday, but will welcome any cyclist needing a carbo boost to get home on their long Sunday rides. 




Race results w/e 28/09/2014

Congratulations to Andy Convery on winning his first open time trial at the VC Sevale promoted event on the K46/10 course at Severn Stoke.  Andy has had an end of season surge and this win in 21-34 was long overdue.  Jon Howard had another consistent ride finishing 9th with a time of 22-31, but Justin Walters suffered brain fade and missed his start time ending up 17th in 23-23.  Lucy Walters salvaged some family pride with another fine ride in 24-46 for 29th place.  With all four riders determined to put more effort into their Winter training programs we can look forward to more PBs next season.
Dave Meacham was the fastest WFCRC rider in the Welsh Championship 50 miles TT promoted by the Welsh Cycling Association on the R50/1b course near Abergavenny finishing 21st from an entry of 92 riders in a time of 1-58-56.  He was followed by Brad Bradley in 39th place with a time of 2-09-38 taking over a minute off his previous best at this distance then Paul Gibson with 2-11-01 for 43rd place in his first 50 of the season.
Steve Vanes continues to impress in the West Midlands Cyclo Cross League finishing 6th in the latest round promoted by Redditch R&PCC and Beacon CC.  Steve has now moved up to 6th overall in the Senior Men's category.  The next race will be held at the Baggeridge Country Park on 5th October if any club members would like to ride over and give some support.   He followed this up with 62nd place from over 600 starters in a time of 3 hours 36 minutes and 57 seconds in the tough three peaks cyclo cross event which covered 36 miles of moorland tracks and included 1500 metres of climbing.